Crochet Monday and Heart Surgery

Not sure what Crochet Mondays are about? Click here to get familiar.

This weeks Motifs… were not finished due to surgery out of state.

I have been messing around with amigurumi! It’s been fun! I made a carrot and will be finishing it today. I’ll update this post with pics later.

If you’ve been following me on twitter, you’d know that my son, who is 10 years old, has had open heart surgery to repair a congenital heart defect. His tricuspid valve did not develop properly in my 3rd month of pregnancy. The condition is called Ebstein’s anomaly of the tricuspid valve.

He was diagnosed at 19 days old and was given 2 years to live. When he was 3 he had 4 teeth removed due to bottle rot because his father insisted on giving him a better quality of life rather than treating him normal. I’ve since forgiven him. But as the years progressed we got used to him being around. We accepted that he may live to be an old man without surgery. This last year he showed signs of wear on his heart.

Five years ago he would have had his malformed valve removed and an artificial valve put in. He would have also needed frequent surgeries to replace worn out valves his whole life. We had hoped he’d last long enough to use his own valve tissue, and he did! Science has caught up with my son and now his repaired valve is his own tissue! I couldn’t be happier.

We’re still in the hospital – been here since Wednesday last week. We’re hoping to be discharged tomorrow. He’s back to his old self and being typically silly. His heart rhythm is off a bit right now, but they don’t seem to be worried too much about it. He’ll be closely monitored so he won’t need a pacer (pacemaker).

I’m updating on twitter as news comes, so you can follow me by clicking the twitter link on the bottom of any page in my blog.

Meet Bob.
He’s Mason’s carrot.
I made it for him while I was in the hospital
with him waiting for him to get better!

