Amazing Lip Balm

In 2003, I made bath products. I had sensitive skin and needed to KNOW what was in my soap and scrubs. During that time I learned how to make Lip Balm. It’s really easy. You just need a few things.

  • A double boiler – though I just used a small dedicated metal pot in a larger pot with about 1 inch of water.
  • A dedicated stirring implement
  • Toothpicks
  • pots to pour the lip balm in

After you have all those things, you will need a recipe. Here’s one of my favorites that doesn’t require special flavoring oils (though those were fun) or coloring (though that can be fun as well).

1/4 C Beeswax
3 T 92 degree Coconut Oil
2 T Almond Oil
1/2 t Vitamin E Oil
1 t Peppermint EO
1 t Honey

Melt beeswax in double boiler over medium heat. Stir in all your oils. Once thoroughly mixed and melted, stir in honey and remove from heat. Carefully pour into lip balm pots and let cool. Once cool, they will be ready to use.

A few add ins: 25-50 drops of liquid Stevia sweetener; 1 t flavor oil in place of the peppermint EO; 1/4 t beet root powder, alkanet powder, chlorophyll or food coloring; Avocado Oil, Apricot Kernal Oil, Olive Oil or Sunflower Oil are good replacements for the almond oil. Do NOT replace the beeswax or coconut oil and still try to use this recipe. Your lip balm will not be the right consistency and may melt if put near warmth, making a mess. Try to keep the lip balm out of your pocket. I cannot guarantee that the warmth of your body wouldn’t eventually melt this lip balm or any for that matter.

This lip balm has been raved as the last lip balm you’ll ever need. Lol. I made my pots way too big and some customers still have the one’s they bought years ago. I still have mine even. A little definitely goes a long way. If I forgot anything or you have any questions feel free to ask in the comments.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Amazing Lip Balm

  1. thanks so much for the recipe. i tried making lip balm once
    and didn’t like the way it turned out. i think it had cocoa butter
    in it and turned out too hard. i love that this has coconut oil and
    honey in it; i’m definitely going to give it a try!

Comments are closed.