Being Thankful

As some of you may know, I’m not into holidays. I love what they stand for, so I try to incorporate that into my daily life all year round. Valentine’s Day is about love, Independence Day is about celebrating our freedom, Thanksgiving is about being thankful, etc. So, this Thanksgiving, after dealing with 7 months of pregnancy hormones, I am reminded of that purpose. Sometimes I forget and get caught up in the daily grind.

I admit, I hadn’t been thankful for much lately. It’s been a tough go with the hormones of pregnancy and the stress of all the changes that have been taking place because of this new life coming. I had forgotten to be thankful. Forgotten! Good thing I got a reminder!

So, I wanted to remind myself and share with you all what I’m truly thankful for. It’s a short list, but I think it covers the gamut.

Here goes…

  • I’m thankful for my family; my sons, my partner, his parents, my dad are all amazing.
  • I’m thankful for my home and the comforts therein.
  • I’m thankful for the relationships I’ve been able to build over the past year.
  • I’m thankful for life.

I suppose I could whittle the generalities down to minor specifics, but I’ll leave it as this. I think this is a good list.

Though I don’t celebrate holidays, I do participate in them. My family and my partners family are all holiday people, and I love participating in their events. This past Thanksgiving though, my partners family had my style of Thanksgiving dinner: low key, just close loved ones and tons of laughing and talking. They were surprised at how easy it was and how much more they enjoyed it. It was a good day! I can only hope it’s the start of a trend. If not, I’ll enjoy whatever they host. I always do.

With the end of the year coming and New Years fast approaching, what are you thankful for? Share in the comments below.

One thought on “Being Thankful

  1. hmm, I’m thankful for many things.. but most thankful for:
    * My health & the health of my family.
    *For the great relationships I have made, for the ones I still have, & the ones I’m able to expand upon.
    * My Sister-in-law will get to spend another wonderful year with us, and hopefully many more
    *That my hubbys uncle has been able to make it to the holidays. (His cancer is getting really bad)

Comments are closed.