Crochet Lace

This is what I was up to last week. In my free time I crocheted some mushroom lace.

Do you see the mushrooms? I hope you can see them.

I like to crochet lace. It’s usually a little fancier than this, but I wanted a mushroom border to add to little girls dress.

Oh, who’s little girl? Well, for those who don’t know, I’m due Dec 25th with my first daughter. I have two boys, ages 14 and 9, and this little bundle of joy will be my first girl. So, you can understand why I crochet lace for her dresses? I was pretty sure you could.

So, to get a mushroom border I tried my hand at filet crochet. I used a size 5/1.7mm crochet hook and some mercerized cotton. But first I had to plan the design. I started on graph paper and tried a mushroom shape. When I was happy with the shape, I modified it to make it a bit more interesting and wallah! Mushroom lace trim.

I think it turned out pretty good. I made it about 15.75″ long and 1.5″ wide. There’s a slight ruffle on the edge to make it a little more feminine. I’m excited to incorporate this into one of her dresses. It’ll be fun finding just the right fabric to accent it.

If you’re not familiar with filet crochet, you can find a great tutorial here. Once you get the shapes down on graph paper, the sky’s the limit as to what you can make with it. BTW I used (dc, ch1) as my pattern and with this small of a hook, it makes a square holed net.

Happy crocheting!

2 thoughts on “Crochet Lace

Comments are closed.